Something I’ve been thinking about lately

20121021-084033.jpg
As my husband and I continue to face the struggles and problems of life, I feel tempted to be frustrated because each new setback seems to put us further away from the dreams of success (you know – stability, luxuries, stocks and bonds, retirements, vacations, etc.)

Then I remember that if we don’t learn the lessons that we are here to learn, this earthly experience will be wasted.

Years ago, when I was at Basic Training for the Army National Guard, I faced a difficult opponent: Chow Hall. The dessert line called to me at every meal. (For those that don’t know me, I have quite the sweet tooth, and that love for desserts has always been problematic for my dress size.) I reasoned that at no time in my life had I a better reason to indulge in sweets than at BCT. I was alone, far from home, and had been working out.

One day, I finally decided, “I’ll never have this opportunity again, I may as well make the most of it.” So I refrained from treats and began to work hard.

I feel the same about life – we will never have this opportunity again, in all of our eternities. If we should fail to learn those lessons that continue to present themselves to us, what will be the point of our being here.

Dig in. Learn patience. Learn kindness. Learn charity. Learn gratitude. Learn purity. Learn repentance. Learn striving. Learn worship. Learn humility. Learn faith.

This is the time to learn to “submit to all things…as a child doth submit to his father”(Mosiah 3:19).”

To quote my hedonistic friends (though for a much different purpose) you only have one life to live, so live it. Allow the Master to polish you so that when “He shall appear we shall be like Him” (Moroni 7:48).

Leave a Reply

