A Return to Narnia: Voyage of the Dawn Treader

“It isn’t Narnia, you know,” sobbed Lucy. “It’s you. We shan’t meet you there. And how can we live, never meeting you?”

“But you shall meet me, dear one,” said Aslan.

“Are — are you there too, Sir?” said Edmund.

“I am,” said Aslan, “But there I have another name. You must learn to know me by that name. This was the very reason why you were brought to Narnia, that by knowing me here for a little, you may know me better there.'”

(From C.S. Lewis’ Voyage of the Dawn Treader)

When I saw the above poster for this movie on a billboard,  I was so drawn to it, I nearly drove off the road. (That’s a slight exaggeration, but it did take my breath away.)  It seems the advertisers, at least, caught the vision of the spirit of those books.  It’s the yearning to be close to Aslan, who is all things –  glorious, victorious, and sublime.

Here is an article that touches on some of the spiritual highlights of the Voyage of the Dawn Treader.  It is entitled, What can we learn from a lion? Lessons about Christ from Lewis’ Aslan, by S. Michael Wilcox.

The movie, which I saw a few hours ago, did not use the moments of religious symbolism as powerfully as the first movie, The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe, however, it was much better in those areas than Prince Caspain was.  Let’s hope that the filmmakers continue to realize, as the marketing department did that the major draw to Narnia IS Aslan and our desire to come to know Him better.

Leave a Reply

