Wage War and Beat Drums in easier script

The post that I wrote with this poem was just a wonderful, creative outlet for me – the ability to put words and do it in an artistic way was so much fun.  But, while I love the script that I used, I realize that it was very difficult to read.  For that reason, I am re-transcribing the poem here in plain text.  To see the poem in original form, click here. 

Wage War and Beat Drums

Wage war and beat crescendoing drums,
But are you sure when battle comes
That enemy is friend or foe?
Push back the veil from long ago!

A memory in cobwebs kept,
recalls battle where heavens wept,
And the dragon in bitter gall
lost his soul, in the shameful fall.

On the earth, battle rages fresh -
But, war not against blood and flesh!
For every brother is your friend,
unless to enemy he bend.

Power of darkness, spirit being’s -
influence is everywhere seen.
Like spilt ink, the dark creeps.
Through word, image, song it seeps.

Infected by the evil pox,
it permeates, ‘till every thought -
is by master easily led.
Poor hungry souls feed on sick bread.

They lick plate clean and call for more,
insatiable thirst in their core.
Dark master laughs with chain in hand,
and in nightmares, he sears his brand.

Zombie legions follow him fast,
ignore the warning signs they pass.
They fiercely beat and wage the war,
and don’t know who they’re fighting for.

But, just as dark invades the soul,
Light can also be in control.
Like nanotech, imbue with strength -
Deposit gold in body’s bank.

Spiritual infusion takes place,
as every atom fills with Grace.
Transforming flesh into forged light,
and mortal thought is given might.

For this Master’s a different kind,
your total control, you will not find.
He wants you to draw strength and pow’r
From richest Bread in every hour.

Mental weapons of shield and sword,
to fight against the angry horde.
No terror here, no anguished dreams –
But nourishment from Life’s lush streams.

Come, leave the shadows, live in light -
though – it won’t be an easy fight.
To be a soldier, not a drone,
you must act, with courage unknown.

But they that be with us be more,
Unseen legions wait at the door.
Dark’s death and decay have a cure –
turn on the Light, if you’re unsure.

Laryssa Waldron
August 25, 2013

So, here’s the challenge.  I referenced at least three scriptures in the poem.  Can you find them and give references?  

Also, just a note –  I referenced Nanotechnology.  Do you know what it is without looking at the next sentence?

It’s the manipulation of matter on the atomic and molecular level, a science that has been increasing in scope lately, and an area that I find completely fascinating!

12 thoughts on “Wage War and Beat Drums in easier script

  1. Pingback: Poem: Wage War and Beat Drums | Light Refreshments

  2. Ok, here is what I got….these all could have gone several ways, I think it might be in the eyes of the beholder, in which case you might want to poke my eyes out so you can boss me around. Ok? But don’t really. :)

    Paragraph 2: DC 76:27 The Devil is the fallen son of the Morning and Moses 4:20, where the Lord curses him to eat dust all the days of his life.

    Paragraph 5: 2 Nephi: 15:20 calling good evil and evil good. Also Alma 30:60 could apply where it references that the Devil wants to drag us all down to hell.

    Paragraph 11: Ephesians, and the whole armor of God. Which is interesting. We had Stk Conf last week and our 1st C talked about that scripture. He described how to shoe a horse, which I did not know or put together was “shodding” the horse. To shod a horse you nail the shoe on, then pinch the nails so that they don’t come off. The nails are scripture study and prayer. If we do those things the shoe that we shod ourselves with will not come off.

    And the nanotechnology I didn’t get, but that is a very interesting branch of chemistry. As you know my husband is a Chemist. He is convinced that this is how Jesus turned water into wine …at the molecular level.

    • Awesome!!! You brought up ones that I didn’t even think about, but relate perfectly. (Especially the BoM ones, I totally wasn’t thinking of those, but so fantastic!) Yes absolutely on the DC 76, and I forgot that I put in the Ephesians reference. There are two more that almost quote scripture verbatim. Just a hint for anyone following (you know my mom, and my best friend :).) One is Old Testament, and one is New Testament. I’ll add more hints later.

      Nice thoughts about water into wine. It would make so much sense that the creator of the earth would have the ability to use scientific principles to create miracles. I’ve always believed that miracles are just scientific principles understood in a way much greater than we know.

      • But if you think about it … that is how the earth and all of the Lord’s creations were made, with science. Granted, like you said, in ways much greater. And I’m sure, because the Lord lives in the Celestial, using Celestial laws, which, naturally, living here on Terra Firma we will not understand. And therein lies the great science vs. religion debate. It’s all out there, and understandable, just not to us right now. As the Lord says in the DC, the wisdom of man is foolishness unto me. And yet, he still loves us.

      • I love it! I love your thought, “He loves us anyway!”

        I also love that the scriptures have said that we will have all knowledge at the Latter Times of refreshing. This is when we’re beginning to scratch the surface of how things work, are, and come to be, it’s such an exciting time. We’re so blessed to have the knowledge we have (scientific, medical, technological, etc.) and it just keeps coming – amazing!

      • You get 100 Kapooka points!!!! Ding, ding, ding! Good for hugs, smiles, phone calls, and silly jokes. :)

  3. And I’m following the blogs of two sisters currently serving in BG. It’s so funny to read their thoughts and think back to my own —- some things are truly and they never changes. For example, the smells, people talking fast, kislo milyako, falling down and skinning your knees, lots of stray dogs. Some things do change however. For example, big apartments with washers, 100+ people at church in Sofia and the fact that in Sofia the missionaries do not run the branch, no more trams down Blvd Vitosha and the fact that Tzar Boris III No. 94 is now a restaurant.

    • And the fact that two sisters serving in BG can write blogs. :) I remember coming home, being so confused … “What is this Internet that you speak of?” And ” e-mail?” 1995-1996 was a great time for serving, but we missed a lot of things that were going on around us – not little things either!

      • I know about the internet. I remember asking someone, “What is WWW on everything for?” And then when my friend showed me what the internet was, he said, “Ok, where do you want to go?” What do you mean? I had no clue. I will say this, email is awesome, but so are air mail envelopes with bug stamps, and the parents of BG missionaries will never know what that feels like in the mailbox! And when Deborah Dusku and Heidi Brown went back last month for One Heart BG work, they shared with the newbies what it was like back in our times — no name tags, getting thrown in jail all the time, serious persecution. They don’t have any of that anymore. I guess that’s what we did for them — suffered so they could work. Although it would have been nice, I think, to be trained how to do missionary work like they are now. They seem to know so much more and know what to do earlier on. Maybe that’s just me. I felt so confused most of the time when I was a junior.

      • Love the bug stamps! They were so colorful. :)
        I like to think of our time there as the “Missouri days” for the early saints. Someone had to live through them so that the church could continue. I have so much love and respect for those early saints who survived so much with their testimonies intact. I’m thrilled that the work is going so much better there, but I hope that people will look on our service there with kindness, knowing that we did try hard (with the circumstances that we were under) and we did love the people and the country. I’ll never forget our flight home, you and I were BAWLING as we watched our little Bulgaria growing smaller and smaller (they thought we were crazy!)

Leave a Reply

